



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

August 19, 2014

CONTACT:
Mayor's Press Office
312.744.3334
press@cityofchicago.org

MAYOR EMANUEL AND CPS CEO BYRD-BENNETT ANNOUNCE FIRST PHASE OF CLASSROOM AIR CONDITIONING INSTALLATION COMPLETED ON TIME AND UNDER BUDGET

CPS Completes the First Phase of Air Conditioning Installations at 57 Schools; 86 Schools to Receive Air Conditioning Systems this Year

Mayor Rahm Emanuel and Chicago Public Schools (CPS) CEO Barbara Byrd-Bennett announced today that the first phase of air conditioning installations at 57 schools was completed on time and under budget. This is the first phase of a multi-year plan to provide air conditioning in every CPS classroom. As a result of this efficiency, Mayor Emanuel and CPS CEO Byrd-Bennett announced in July that an additional 29 schools will receive by the end of October. With this investment, a total of 154 schools have received air conditioning in the past two years.

"This investment ensures a comfortable learning environment for our students and teachers as we prepare to kick off another great school year," said Mayor Emanuel. "With the completion of the first phase air conditioning system installations, our students will be able to better concentrate on their studies instead of the temperature in the classroom, which is essential for a successful future."

The first phase of the multi-year plan and every subsequent year will each cost approximately \$20 million and will be funded through the CPS capital budget. Electrical savings this year have allowed CPS to expand the first phase to include 29 additional schools for the same total funding in FY15.

"Bringing air conditioning to all of our classrooms is important for our students to do the work they need to succeed," said CPS CEO Byrd-Bennett. "With this investment, the quality of our learning environments will mirror the quality of our instruction."

Schools were selected to prioritize those that had no air conditioning and expanded to include those with partial air conditioning, which required a lower infrastructure investment. These schools also represent a geographic balance across the district so all communities would benefit from this investment. Mayor Emanuel and the Board previously installed air conditioning at 68 schools in 2013, including 55 welcoming schools.

The 57 schools that received air conditioning systems in the first phase of installation are below:

John Barry Elementary School Newton Bateman Elementary School Hiram H Belding Elementary School Daniel Boone Elementary School

Norman A Bridge Elementary School

Lyman A Budlong Elementary School

Burnside Elementary Scholastic Academy

Jonathan Burr Elementary School

Marvin Camras Elementary School

Rachel Carson Elementary School

Henry R Clissold Elementary School

Christopher Columbus Elementary School

Stephen Decatur Classical Elementary School

James R Doolittle Elementary School

Fairfield Elementary Academy

Christian Fenger Academy High School

Fernwood Elementary School

Melville W Fuller Elementary School

Frank L Gillespie Elementary School

Johann W von Goethe Elementary School

William C Goudy Elementary School

Frank W Gunsaulus Elementary Scholastic Academy

William Rainey Harper High School

Helge A Haugan Elementary School

John Hay Elementary Community Academy

Stephen K Hayt Elementary School

Thomas A Hendricks Community Academy

Patrick Henry Elementary School

Theodore Herzl Elementary School

Charles N Holden Elementary School

Gurdon S Hubbard High School

Inter-American Elementary Magnet School

Friedrich Ludwig Jahn Elementary School

Kate S Kellogg Elementary School

Charles Kozminski Elementary Community Academy

Arthur A Libby Elementary School

George B McClellan Elementary School

Louis Nettelhorst Elementary School

North River Elementary School

William J Onahan Elementary School

William Bishop Owen Scholastic Academy ES (K-8)

Park Manor Elementary School

Ambrose Plamondon Elementary School

George M Pullman Elementary School

Ravenswood Elementary School

Washington D Smyser Elementary School

Spencer Technology Academy (Pre-K-8)

Betty Shabazz – Sizemore campus

Harriet Beecher Stowe Elementary School

Talman Elementary School

James N Thorp Elementary School Velma F Thomas Early Childhood Center Charles H Wacker Elementary School James Ward Elementary School Harold Washington Elementary School Thomas J Waters Elementary School Ella Flagg Young Elementary School

The 29 additional schools that will receive air conditioning by the end of October as a result of efficiencies in first phase are listed below:

Phillip D Armour Elementary School Albert R Sabin Elementary Magnet School Henry H Nash Elementary School Washington High School Sauganash Elementary School Charles P Caldwell Academy of Math & Science ES **Edgebrook Elementary School** William E B Dubois Elementary School James Hedges Elementary School **Brighton Park Elementary School** Franklin Elementary Fine Arts Center Alcott High School for the Humanities Foster Park Elementary School Cesar E Chavez Multicultural Academic Center ES **Ernst Prussing Elementary School** Carl von Linne Elementary School John Greenleaf Whittier Elementary School Mark Sheridan Elementary Math & Science Academy Rowe Elementary School Alexander Hamilton Elementary School Joshua D Kershaw Elementary School Joseph Jungman Elementary School Orville T Bright Elementary School Richard J Oglesby Elementary School

Wolfgang A Mozart Elementary School Frank W Reilly Elementary School DeWitt Clinton Elementary School Anna R. Langford Community Academy Daniel Webster Elementary School